date festival

TRIBUTES AND RETROSPECTIVES

Federico Fellini

Multi-award winning filmmaker Federico Fellini, considered an absolute master of cinema during his lifetime, was able to surpass himself by inventing a unique and personal art form on which the writer Italo Calvino wrote: “The film we had the illusion of being mere spectators of is the story of our lives.” (Autobiography of a spectator).


At the age of 19, Federico Fellini moved to Rome and began a career as a cartoonist for popular Italian newspapers. Far from being anecdotal, this first profession established his taste for the grotesque inspired by reality. He opened a small shop where passers-by could have their portraits drawn. For Fellini, the world then became a permanent parade of faces and situations. Six years later, he had his first screenwriting contracts and collaborated on important Italian films with Roberto Rossellini, Pietro Germi and Alberto Lattuada. It was with Alberto Lattuada, in 1951, that he co-signed Les Feux du music-hall, his “semi”-first film. One more foot in neo-realism, this portrayal of post-war Italy proved to be very personal for Fellini and already revealed a complex vision of the world that would blossom in the works to come.


It is well known that the maestro’s career functions in two stages. There is the first part of the work up to La dolce vita in 1960, which breaks definitively with neo-realism, and then the second from in 1963, which plunges into introspection. Fellini was then in search of a form of writing capable of capturing an inner feeling between memory and the unconscious. He confided to Simenon (with whom he kept up a regular correspondence) that he was now building his sequences on “visions”. In Roma, memories and scenes of pure fantasy mingle with other elements showing a permanent attention to limbo: whether it be extraordinary bodies, crowded motorways, contrasts between the ancient and the modern.


As American novelist Gore Vidal says in the same film, “Rome is the best place to wait for the Apocalypse”. In his first period, Fellini shows us individuals on the verge of shipwreck (like his group of young thirty-somethings lost in I vitelloni in 1953) and then it is the whole of Rome that is decadent in La dolce vita. However, the films are not dark, but, on the contrary, luminous. As if Fellini was telling us that everything was saved if, in the midst of collapse, it was possible to keep your conscience. Often, a character stands out from the human magma, especially after a party scene, forced to face himself. This is the case of Marcello (Mastroianni) who wanders through the Roman upper middle class of La dolce vita.


101 years after his birth, we should return to the abundance of Fellini and his films which have no borders between dream, imagination and reality. In collaboration with the Festival Il Cinema Ritrovato of Bologna and the Cineteca of Bologna, the Festival Premiers Plans is offering you restored copies of about ten titles, all of which may tell you something about our present.



Luci del varieta Italy 1950 1h37
Lo sceicco bianco Italy 1952 1h26
I Vitelloni Italy / France 1953 1h49
La strada Italy 1954 1h48
La dolce vita Italy / France 1960 2h54
Otto e mezzo Italy / France 1963 2h18
Roma Italy / France 1972 2h00
Amarcord Italy / France 1973 2h03
Prova d'orchestra Italy / 1979 1h10
E la nave va… Italy / France 1983 2h12


La dolce vita © Pathé Distribution Otto e mezzo

du 17 au 26 janvier 2011

HOMMAGES ET RÉTROSPECTIVES

Federico Fellini

Multi-récompensé et considéré de son vivant comme un maître absolu du cinéma, Federico Fellini a su se dépasser pour inventer un art unique et personnel sur lequel l’écrivain Italo Calvino écrira : « Le film dont nous avions l’illusion de n’être que spectateur est l’histoire de notre vie. » (Autobiographie d’un spectateur).


Âgé de 19 ans, Federico Fellini monte à Rome et commence une carrière de caricaturiste pour des journaux populaires italiens. Loin d’être anecdotique, ce premier métier assoit son goût pour le grotesque inspiré par le réel. Il ouvre une petite boutique où les passants peuvent se faire tirer le portrait. Le monde devient alors pour Fellini un défilé permanent de trognes et de situations. Six ans plus tard, il décroche ses premiers contrats de scénaristes et collaborent à d’importants films italiens avec Roberto Rossellini, Pietro Germi et Alberto Lattuada. C’est avec ce dernier, en 1951, qu’il co-signera Les Feux du music-hall, son « demi »-premier film. Encore un pied dans le néo-réalisme, cette peinture de l’Italie d’après-guerre s’avère très personnelle pour Fellini et révèle déjà une vision du monde complexe qui s’épanouira dans les œuvres à venir.


Il est connu que la carrière du maestro fonctionne comme en deux temps. Il y a la première partie de l’œuvre jusqu’à La dolce vita en 1960, qui rompt définitivement avec le néo-réalisme, puis la seconde à partir de Huit et demi en 1963, qui plonge dans l’introspection. Fellini est alors à la recherche d’une écriture capable de rendre compte d’un sentiment intérieur entre souvenir et inconscient. Il confiait à Simenon (avec qui il tenait une correspondance) qu’il construisait maintenant ses séquences sur des « visions ». Dans Fellini Roma, des souvenirs, des scènes de fantaisie pure se mêlent à d’autres documentaires qui montrent une attention permanente pour le capharnaüm : que ce soit les corps extraordinaires, les autoroutes bondées, les contrastes entre l’ancien et le moderne.


Comme le dit le romancier américain Gore Vidal dans ce même film, « Rome est le meilleur endroit pour attendre l’Apocalypse ». Dans sa première période, Fellini nous montre des individus au bord du naufrage (comme son groupe de jeunes trentenaires paumés dans Les Vitelloni en 1953) puis c’est Rome toute entière qui est décadente dans La dolce vita. Pourtant, les films ne sont pas sombres pour autant mais, au contraire, lumineux. Comme si Fellini nous disait que tout était sauvé si, au milieu d’un effondrement, on pouvait garder sa conscience. Souvent, un personnage se détache du magma humain, après une scène de fêtes notamment, contraint de se retrouver face à lui-même. C’est le cas de Marcello (Mastroianni) qui erre dans la haute bourgeoisie romaine de La dolce vita.


101 ans après sa naissance, revenons au foisonnement de Fellini et à ses films sans frontière entre le rêve, l’imaginaire et la réalité. En collaboration avec le Festival Il Cinema Ritrovato de Bologne et la Cineteca di Bologna, le Festival Premiers Plans vous proposera des copies restaurées d’une dizaine de titres qui, tous, risquent de vous dire quelque chose sur notre présent.



Les Feux du music-hall Italie 1950 1h37
Le Cheik blanc Italie 1952 1h26
Les Vitelloni Italie / France 1953 1h49
La strada Italie 1954 1h48
La dolce vita Italie / France 1960 2h54
Huit et demi Italie / France 1963 2h18
Fellini Roma Italie / France 1972 2h00
Amarcord Italie / France 1973 2h03
Répétition d'orchestre Italie / RFA 1979 1h10
Et vogue le navire Italie / France 1983 2h12


La dolce vita © Pathé Distribution Huit et demi