date festival

TRIBUTES AND RETROSPECTIVES

Chantal Akerman

Chantal Akerman has said it time after time: her vocation for the cinema was born following her discovery, as a teenager, of Pierrot le fou. She suddenly understood that it was possible to make films different from those produced by the industry and – at barely 18 years of age – she took the plunge. This was Saute ma ville, a semi-professional short film in which she already: 1) filmed herself, 2) in her mother's kitchen, 3) until death. To say that this small film is prophetic is no exaggeration. This was followed by is a period New York which was an aesthetic education. While there she met Babette Mangolte, who would become her cinematographer, and discovered the work of the experimental filmmaker Michael Snow, from whom she adopted the extreme concentration of long shots despite any absence of events.


“Chantal Akerman wrote to us regularly. She put her address on the back of the envelope (Jeanne Dielman, 23, quai du Commerce, 1080 Bruxelles - 1975), she signed (Je, tu, il, elle - 1974), she gave news in English (News from Home - 1976), she even made appointments (Les Rendez-vous d'Anna - 1978). Letters arrived, thrown in the waste basket by some, read with passion by others. I was more a part of the ‘others’.” These words of Serge Daney (in volume 1 of his Ciné-Journal), clearly show the extent to which Akerman, at the heart of the 1970s, made films of capital importance, at the limits between the essay and self-fiction, haunted by her relationship with her mother, Natalia, a death-camp survivor. Each is different from the other through the use of individual directing styles producing works which are as conceptual as they are visceral, and which have been a constant source of inspiration for other filmmakers such as Gus Van Sant and Todd Haynes.


Akerman saw this golden age of her work as a heavy burden, especially Jeanne Dielman, her epic masterpiece, which was so accomplished and yet directed at such a young age that she feared she would never be able to do any better. She continued her existential exploration, daring to explore other registers. This meant musical comedy for the ambitious Golden Eighties – a studio film bringing together different generations of French cinema actors, from her first “fetish” actress Delphine Seyrig to Charles Denner and Lio. D'Est saw her set out on the roads of a Europe once again visible after the fall of the Berlin Wall. She returned with almost spectral images of a frozen world. A woman waiting for the bus makes a lasting impression. Is she not the distant mirror of Jeanne Dielman's ritualised and asphyxiating daily life?


In 2000, La Captive, based on Proust, a tale of obsessive love, came back to the inventiveness of her first films and No Home Movie, in 2014, about her sick mother, brought the work to a definitive close. Claire Atherton, her editor and accomplice for thirty years, revealed in a posthumous text the evidence that seized Akerman as she started to work on 20 hours of rushes: “(...) this film is about a character, a woman born in Poland, who arrived in Belgium in 1938 fleeing the pogroms and exactions. This woman is my mother. In, and only in, her flat in Brussels.” The tragic tone that Akerman’s work takes on with this final film should not hide the fact that her constant experimentation and her capacity to renew herself also takes the form of humour and a certain fantasy, particularly when she directs herself in numerous short films.


Chantal Akerman accepted to be a member of the jury in 1992 and it is with great joy and deep admiration that the Festival Premiers Plans is presenting her fundamental films in restored copies and in the presence of numerous guests.



Short films
Saute ma ville Belgium 1968 13mn
La Chambre Belgium 1972 11mn
Le 15/8 Belgium 1973 42mn


Feature films
Hôtel Monterey Belgium / United States 1973 1h05
Je, tu, il, elle Belgium / France 1974 1h26
Jeanne Dielman, 23 quai du Commerce, 1080 Bruxelles Belgium / France 1975 3h22
News From Home France / Belgium / 1977 1h25
Anna's Meetings France / Belgium / 1978 2h00
Golden Eighties France / Belgium / Switzerland 1986 1h36
From the East Belgium / France / Portugal 1993 1h47
The Captive France / Belgium 2000 1h58
No Home Movie Belgium / France 2015 1h55


Jeanne Dielman, 23 quai du Commerce, 1080 Bruxelles Golden Eighties

du 17 au 26 janvier 2011

HOMMAGES ET RÉTROSPECTIVES

Chantal Akerman

Chantal Akerman l’a dit et redit : sa vocation pour le cinéma naît suite à sa découverte, adolescente, de Pierrot le fou. Elle comprend brusquement qu’il est possible de faire un autre cinéma que celui de l’industrie et — âgée d’à peine 18 ans — elle se lance. C’est Saute ma ville, un court métrage semi professionnel dans lequel déjà : 1) elle se filme, 2) dans la cuisine de sa mère, 3) jusqu’à la mort. Dire que ce petit film est prophétique n’est pas une exagération. Puis, il y a un passage par New-York qui fonctionne comme une éducation esthétique. Elle rencontre Babette Mangolte, qui deviendra sa chef-opératrice, et découvre le travail du cinéaste expérimental Michael Snow dont elle retient l’extrême concentration des plans longs malgré l’absence d’évènement.


« Régulièrement, Chantal Akerman nous écrivait. Elle mettait son adresse au dos de l’enveloppe (Jeanne Dielman, 23, quai du Commerce, 1080 Bruxelles - 1975), elle signait (Je, tu, il, elle - 1974), elle donnait de ses nouvelles en anglais (News from Home - 1976), elle fixait même des rendez-vous (Les Rendez-vous d’Anna - 1978). Les lettres arrivaient, jetées au panier par certains, lues avec passion par d’autres. Je faisais plutôt partie des « autres ». » Ces mots de Serge Daney (à lire dans le volume 1 de son Ciné -Journal), disent bien à quel point Akerman, au cœur des années 70, enchaîne des films d’une importance capitale, aux limites de l’essai et de la fiction de soi, hantés par son rapport à sa mère, Natalia, rescapée des camps de la mort. Chaque film invente un dispositif de mise en scène différent pour donner lieu à des œuvres aussi conceptuelles que viscérales qui n’ont jamais cessé d’inspirer d’autres cinéastes (Gus Van Sant, Todd Haynes).


Cet âge d’or de son œuvre, Akerman le portera comme un lourd fardeau, notamment Jeanne Dielman, son chef-d’œuvre fleuve, si abouti et réalisé si jeune, qu’elle craint ne jamais pouvoir faire mieux. Alors elle continue son exploration existentielle mais ose d’autres registres. Ce sera la comédie musicale dans l’ambitieux Golden Eighties ; film de studio qui regroupe différentes générations d’acteurs du cinéma français, de sa première actrice « fétiche » Delphine Seyrig à Charles Denner en passant par Lio. D’Est la voit partir sur les routes d’une Europe à nouveau visible suite à la chute du mur de Berlin. Elle en revient avec des images presque spectrales d’un monde figé. Une femme attendant le bus marquera les esprits. N’est-elle pas le miroir lointain du quotidien ritualisé et asphyxiant de Jeanne Dielman ?


En 2000, La Captive d’après Proust, récit d’une obsession amoureuse, renoue avec l’invention de ses premiers films et No Home Movie, en 2014, sur sa mère malade, boucle l’œuvre de manière définitive. Claire Atherton, sa monteuse et complice pendant trente ans, révèle dans un texte posthume l’évidence qui a saisi la cinéaste alors qu’elle partait sur vingt heures de rush éparses : « (…) ce film c est un personnage, une femme née en Pologne, arrivée en Belgique en 1938 pour fuir les pogroms et les exactions. Cette femme, c est ma mère. Dans et uniquement dans son appartement à Bruxelles . » La tonalité tragique que prend l’oeuvre d’Akerman avec cet ultime film ne doit pas masquer que son expérimentation permanente et sa capacité à se renouveler prend aussi les formes de l’humour et d’une certaine fantaisie notamment quand elle se met en scène elle-même dans de nombreux courts métrages.


Chantal Akerman avait accepté d’être membre du jury en 1992 et c’est avec une grande joie et une profonde admiration que le Festival Premiers Plans présentera ses films fondamentaux dans des copies restaurées et en présence de nombreux invités.



Courts métrages
Saute ma ville Belgique 1968 13mn
La Chambre Belgique 1972 11mn
Le 15/8 Belgique 1973 42mn


Longs métrages
Hôtel Monterey Belgique / États-Unis 1973 1h05
Je, tu, il, elle Belgique / France 1974 1h26
Jeanne Dielman, 23 quai du Commerce, 1080 Bruxelles Belgique / France 1975 3h22
News From Home France / Belgique / RFA 1977 1h25
Les Rendez-vous d'Anna France / Belgique / RFA 1978 2h00
Golden Eighties France / Belgique / Suisse 1986 1h36
D'Est Belgique / France / Portugal 1993 1h47
La Captive France / Belgique 2000 1h58
No Home Movie Belgique / France 2015 1h55


Jeanne Dielman, 23 quai du Commerce, 1080 Bruxelles Golden Eighties