date festival

TRIBUTES AND RETROSPECTIVES

Christian Petzold

In attendance

Since the end of the 1990s, Christian Petzold has established himself as the most important German director to emerge after the fall of the Wall. His work is impressive in its attempts to embrace the issues of contemporary Germany and to question the legacy of reunification. He collaborated on his screenplays with experimental documentary filmmaker Harun Farocki until the latter’s death in 2014.


Not afraid of pure fiction, and enjoying playing on detective, romantic and even horrific references, Petzold began his career with several films directly rooted in a certain type of everyday life. Die innere Sicherheit (The State I Am In), his first feature film, which the Festival Premiers Plans screened in official competition in 2001, evokes the traces of extreme left-wing terrorism; Yella, in 2007, tackles contemporary capitalism as a mirage, and Jerichow the role of money in the story of a love trio.


Actress Nina Hoss became the face of his films and their collaboration is compared to that of Fassbinder and Hanna Schygulla. She is the force behind Barbara in 2012 and Phoenix in 2014. With these two films, Christian Petzold began to gain public recognition as his cinema took a more historical turn. He then explored going back in time, returning to the traumatic origins of his country (the communist bloc in the first; the post-war period in the second). Claude Chabrol is a reference for him (his film Wolfsburg is an adaptation of the novel at the origins of Que la bête meure (This Man Must Die)) and like Chabrol, he tries to question the contemporary through narrative plot and an acute knowledge of the cinema of Alfred Hitchcock. Transit (2018) further extends his research with a singular adaptation of a 1940 novel by Anna Seghers. Georg, the central character, transits through Marseilles with the aim of going to the United States while Nazi troops are advancing into French territory. The wild originality of the film is to have transposed the story into the contemporary world without going through a historical re-enactment. Finally, Undine (2020), which won two prizes at the last Berlin Film Festival, is a variation on the myth and a new way of renewing his cinema by taking it on the path of the dream.


Twenty years after the screening of his first feature at the Festival, and more than seven films later, the time has come for Christian Petzold to come and meet the audiences at Premiers Plans.



Pilotinnen Germany 1995 1h12
Die innere Sicherheit Germany / Portugal 2000 1h46
Toter Mann Germany 2001 1h30
Wolfsburg Germany 2003 1h30
Gespenster Germany / France 2005 1h25
Yella Germany 2007 1h29
Jerichow Germany 2008 1h33
Barbara Germany 2012 1h45
Barbara Germany 2012 1h45
Phoenix Germany / Poland 2014 1h38
Transit Germany / France 2018 1h41
Undine Germany / France 2020 1h30


Undine Phoenix © Christian Schulz

du 17 au 26 janvier 2011

HOMMAGES ET RÉTROSPECTIVES

Christian Petzold

En sa présence

Depuis la fin des années 90, Christian Petzold s’est affirmé comme le plus important réalisateur allemand apparu après la chute du mur. Son œuvre impressionne dans sa tentative d’embrasser les problématiques de l’Allemagne contemporaine et de questionner l’héritage de la réunification. Il a collaboré au niveau de ses scénarios avec le documentariste expérimental Harun Farocki jusqu’au décès de ce dernier en 2014.


N’ayant pas peur de la fiction pure, aimant jouer sur des références policières, romanesques et même horrifiques, Petzold commence sa carrière avec plusieurs films qui s’ancrent directement dans une certaine quotidienneté. Contrôle d’identité, son premier long métrage, que le Festival Premiers Plans avait projeté en compétition officielle en 2001, évoque les traces du terrorisme d’extrême-gauche ; Yella en 2007 aborde le capitalisme contemporain comme mirage et Jerichow, le rôle de l’argent dans une histoire de trio amoureux.


L’actrice Nina Hoss devient le visage de ses films et l’on compare leur collaboration à celle de Fassbinder et Hanna Schygulla. C’est elle qui porte Barbara en 2012 et Phoenix en 2014. Avec ces deux films, Christian Petzold commence à connaître une reconnaissance publique alors que son cinéma prend un tournant plus historique. Il s’agit maintenant pour lui de remonter le temps et de revenir aux sources traumatiques de son pays (le bloc communisme dans le premier ; l’après-guerre dans le second). Claude Chabrol est une référence pour lui (son film L’Ombre de l’enfant adapte le roman à l’origine de Que la bête meure) et, comme lui, il tente d’interroger le contemporain à travers des intrigues narratives et une connaissance aigüe du cinéma d’Hitchcock. Transit (2018) prolonge encore ses recherches en adaptant de manière singulière un roman d’Anna Seghers de 1940. Georg, le personnage central, transite par Marseille dans le but d’aller aux États-Unis alors que les troupes nazies progressent sur le territoire français. L’originalité folle du film est d’avoir transposé le récit dans le monde contemporain sans passer par la reconstitution historique. Enfin, Ondine (2020), qui a récolté deux prix au dernier Festival de Berlin, est une variation sur le mythe et une manière nouvelle de renouveler son cinéma en l’emmenant sur le chemin de l’onirisme.


Vingt ans tout juste après la présentation de son premier long métrage au Festival, et plus de sept films plus tard, il était temps que Christian Petzold vienne rencontrer le public de Premiers Plans.



Pilotes Allemagne 1995 1h12
Contrôle d'identité Allemagne / Portugal 2000 1h46
Dangereuses rencontres Allemagne 2001 1h30
L'Ombre de l'enfant Allemagne 2003 1h30
Fantômes Allemagne / France 2005 1h25
Yella Allemagne 2007 1h29
Jerichow Allemagne 2008 1h33
Barbara Allemagne 2012 1h45
Barbara Allemagne 2012 1h45
Phoenix Allemagne / Pologne 2014 1h38
Transit Allemagne / France 2018 1h41
Ondine Allemagne / France 2020 1h30


Ondine Phoenix © Christian Schulz