date festival

THE OFFICIAL JURY

FEATURE FILMS JURY

 

© Roger Arpajou
PIERRE SALVADORI • PRESIDENT OF THE FEATURE FILMS JURY
Director, scriptwriter / France

Pierre Salvadori was born in 1964. After taking acting lessons, he performed alone on stage for a few years and then, in 1990, wrote his first screenplay, Cible émouvante (Moving Target). He went on to direct it in 1993 with Jean Rochefort, Marie Trintignant and Guillaume Depardieu in the lead roles. This was followed by Les Apprentis (The Apprentices) in1995 with François Cluzet and Guillaume Depardieu, and ...comme elle respire (White Lies) in 1997 with Marie Trintignant and Guillaume Depardieu. After a darker film in 2000, Les Marchands de sable (The Sandmen), with Mathieu Demy and Serge Riaboukine, he reunited Daniel Auteuil and José Garcia in Après vous (After You) in 2003, followed by Audrey Tautou and Gad Elmaleh in Hors de prix (Priceless) in2006. For his next film, De vrais mensonges (Beautiful Lies) in2010, he again directed Audrey Tautou this time alongside Nathalie Baye, and then in 2014 he directed Dans la cour (In the Courtyard) with Catherine Deneuve and Gustave Kerven. Selected for the Directors' Fortnight in 2018, his film En liberté ! (The Trouble with You) with Adèle Haenel and Pio Marmaï received the SACD award, the international press Lumière for best original screenplay and nine César nominations. His new film La Petite Bande is due to be released in the coming months.


©Getty Images
ELSA AMIEL • Director, scriptwriter, actress / France

Born in Paris, Elsa Amiel grew up in theatres, accompanying her mime-artist father around the world from a very early age. After training in the performing arts (theatre, mime and dance) she chose cinema at the age of 18 and made her debut with Raoul Ruiz on Comédie de l’innocence (Comedy of Innocence). She then worked as first assistant to Mathieu Amalric (Le Stade de Wimbledon, Tournée (On Tour)), Emmanuel Finkiel (Nulle part, terre promise (Nowhere Promised Land), Je ne suis pas un salaud (A Decent Man)), Bertrand Bonello (L'Apollonide (House of Tolerance), Saint Laurent), Noémie Lvovsky (Camille redouble (Camille Rewinds), Demain et tous les autres jours (Tomorrow and Thereafter)), Riad Sattouf (Les Beaux Gosses (The French Kissers)), and Julie Bertuccelli (Depuis qu'Otar est parti (Since Otar Left), L'Arbre (The Tree)). In 2007, she directed her first short film Faccia d'Angelo, presented in several festivals including Premiers Plans where she was again selected for her next short Ailleurs seulement in 2012. The screenplay of her first feature film, Pearl, was read in Angers in 2017 and won the Fondation Visio Jury Prize. The film, starring bodybuilder Julia Föry, Arieh Worthalter and Peter Mullan, was selected in several festivals including Venice, Tribeca and Angers.

 

© Benjamin Guénault

LEYLA BOUZID • Director, scriptwriter / Tunisia

Leyla Bouzid grew up in Tunis where she was born in 1984. In 2003, she went to Paris to study French literature at the Sorbonne and then joined La Fémis in the directing department. She directed Soubresauts (Mkhobbi Fi Kobba – Twitching), her graduation film, in Tunisia a few months before the revolution. It won the Grand Prix du Jury at Premiers Plans in 2012. She then made the medium-length film Zakaria in the south of France with non-professional actors. The film was screened in Angers, where it won a special mention from the Jury in 2014. À peine j’ouvre les yeux (As I Open My Eyes), her first feature film, was selected for several international festivals including Venice, Namur and Carthage and won more than 40 awards, before being a success when it was released almost simultaneously in theatres in France and Tunisia. Her latest feature film, Une histoire d'amour et de désir, will be released this year.

 

FILIPPO MENEGHETTI• Director, scriptwriter / Italy

Originally from Padova, Italy, Filippo Meneghetti gained his early experience working in the independent film circuit in New York. After studying cinema and then anthropology in Rome, he worked as first assistant for several years. He moved on to directing with the short films Undici, co-directed with Piero Tomaselli in 2011, and L'intruso in 2012, which won awards at dozens of Italian and international festivals, including the Audience Award at Premiers Plans in 2013. He moved to France and in 2018 he directed the short film La bête, which, after being in competition at South by Southwest in 2019, won several awards in international festivals. With his feature film project Deux (Two of Us), he participated in the Ateliers d'Angers in 2017, and was then selected the following year at the screenplay readings at Premiers Plans where won the Visio Foundation Jury Prize. The film stars Martine Chevallier, Barbara Sukowa and Léa Drucker. After its premiere at the Toronto 2019 festival, it went on to win awards at more than seventy festivals around the world, including the Audience Award in Angers in 2020, and has been was sold in more than twenty countries. The film was chosen by France as its candidate for the 2021 Academy Awards.

   

SHORT FILMS JURY

 


FRÉDÉRIC CORNET • General and Artistic Director of Cinema Galleries in Brussels / Belgium
Frédéric Cornet has been managing director and artistic director of the Galeries cinema since 2017. He began working as project coordinator and programmer at the L’heure d’été Film Festival at the Galeries cinema from 2013 to 2017. Since 2018, he has been driving the film distribution business at Galeries to provide a broader film offering in Belgium. Also in 2018 he was part of the selection committee of the international competition of the Brussels International Film Festival.
 


IOANA DRAGOMIRESCU • In charge of the Elvire Popesco Cinama in Bucharest and coordinator of the French Film Festival / Romania
Ioana Dragomirescu is the manager of the Elvire Popesco cinema, managed by the French Institute of Romania in Bucharest. The cinema, a member of the Europa Cinemas network, was the most frequented single-screen cinema in the country in 2018 and 2019. She is also the coordinator of the French Film Festival in Romania, organised every year in 12 cities simultaneously. Before joining the French Institute of Romania, she studied at Sciences-Po Paris and then worked for several years for Europa Cinemas and the independent distributor Le Pacte.

 
   

ABI SAKAMOTO • Head of Cinema at the French Institute in Tokyo and film critic / Japan
Born in Tokyo, Abi Sakamoto was editor of the Cahiers du Cinéma Japon between 1996 and 2001 and organised a major retrospective of contemporary Japanese filmmakers in 1997 as part of the Festival d'automne in Paris where she presented films by Kiyoshi Kurosawa, Nobuhiro Suwa and Shinji Aoyama to French audiences. Since 1996, she has directed numerous retrospectives of French filmmakers and actors at the Franco-Japanese Institute in Tokyo, including Mathieu Amalric, Olivier Assayas, Jeanne Balibar, Claude Chabrol, Arnaud Desplechin, Philippe Garrel, Jacques Rivette, Agnès Varda, Jean-Pierre Melville, Jean Renoir, Jean Gremillon, Guy Debord and Chantal Akerman. In 2002, she was performed in the film Demonlover by Olivier Assayas. Since 2013, she has been Head of Cinema at the French Institute of Japan. Abi Sakamoto is also a film critic and has co-written a number of books including Edward Yan, repenser / revoir.

 

STUDENT FILMS JURY

 


MILJA MIKKOLA • Head of Programming at the Midnight Sun Festival in Sodankylä / Helsinki / Finland
Since 2005 Milja Mikkola has been part of the Arctic Circle's Midnight Sun Film Festival where she currently holds the post of Programme Manager. She is also a member of the programming collective of Cinema Orion and co-director of Viva Erotica Film Festival, which celebrates the history of sex with rare gems screened in their original format. Milja studied Film Theory at Brunel University in London, and Visual Journalism at Finland's University of Tampere. Fully trained as an analogue projectionist decades ago, her celluloid roots are embedded in the film world.
 
   
© Raphael Ouellet


ÉMILIE POIRIER • Head of programming at the Festival du Nouveau Cinéma in Montreal / Canada
Émilie Poirier’s current practice revolves around art history/cultural studies, film festival curating and how the two intersect and interact. She is a head of short film and student competition (RPCE) and a feature film programmer at the Festival du nouveau cinéma (FNC). She is currently writing her master thesis in Art History at Université de Montréal, where her academic research examines collaborations between pop culture and contemporary art and on the blurred boundaries between different types of cultural production. Émilie holds a B.A in political science (international relations) from UQAM (2010) and a certificate in art history from Université de Montréal (2014).
 
   


JULIETTE SCHRAMECK • Associate producer at Agat Films / France
After a Masters in Law, Sciences-Po Paris and Distex at La Fémis, Juliette Schrameck worked from 2005 to 2007 in distribution and then international sales at Les Films du Losange on films by various French and international auteurs, from Michael Haneke to Sophie Fillières and Michel Deville. At mk2, which she joined in 2007, she oversaw international sales before taking over acquisitions, and then the general management of mk2 films, the group's content subsidiary, in charge of French and international distribution and co-productions.  In this capacity, she co-produced and supervised sales of films such as Cold War by Paweł Pawlikowski (Best Director Award – Cannes 2018), Mountains May Depart and Ash is the Purest White by Zhangke Jia (Competition – Cannes 2015 and 2018) as well as The Worst Person in the World by Joachim Trier (in post-production). The line-up of films acquired for mk2 films' international sales included – among many others – films by Céline Sciamma, Xavier Dolan, Naomi Kawase, Olivier Assayas, Stéphane Brizé, Mati Diop, Yorgos Lanthimos, Mikhaël Hers, Justine Triet, Kôji Fukada, Michel Franco and Corneliu Porumboiu. The catalogue, whose restoration and distribution she has supervised in France and abroad, includes the work of directors such as Charles Chaplin, Abbas Kiarostami, Agnès Varda, Jacques Demy, David Lynch, François Truffaut, Robert Bresson and Claude Chabrol. In 2020, Juliette joined Agat Films / Ex Nihilo as associate producer to develop French and international film projects.
 
   

ANIMATED FILMS JURY

 


NICOLAS DEVEAUX • Author, director Animation / France
Nicolas Deveaux is a writer and director of animated films. In 2004, Nicolas Deveaux directed 7 tonnes 2. His elephant on a trampoline marked his directorial debut at Studio Cube. This was followed by 5 metres 80 and its diving giraffes in 2013. These films convinced France 3 to entrust him with its summer/winter ident for 2 years and the Oscar Academy for its Theatrical Release. In 2017, he made L'Extraordinaire Voyage, an immersive 6K giant screen flying theatre ride for the Futuroscope. In 2018, his third short film, 1 metre/heure, was released. Athleticus, his new series for Arte, features a whimsical realistic bestiary having to deal with the world of competitive sport. With Cube and Xilam he is currently developing an ambitious new series called Wild Life City. Multi-award-winner Nicolas Deveaux is currently president of the CNC commission for the Fonds d'Aide à L'Innovation en Animation.
 
   


XAVIER KAWA-TOPOR • General Delegate of the NEF Animation / France
A historian by training, Xavier Kawa-Topor directed the Centre Européen d’Art et de Civilisation Médiévale in Conques and at the Royal Abbey of Fontevraud. His passion for animated cinema led him to create at the Forum des images, where he was the director of educational outreach, the biennial New Images of Japan (1999-2003), which played a pioneering role in the recognition in France of the work of Hayao Miyazaki and Isao Takahata. At Fontevraud, Xavier Kawa-Topor created an international writing residency for animation which has so far welcomed more than 250 directors from 30 different countries. He is now the General Delegate of NEF Animation, a national association for research and creation in animated films. He has dedicated several books to animation published by Capricci: Cinéma d'animation : au-delà du réel, Le Cinéma d'Animation en 100 films (co-directed with Philippe Moins), Michael Dudok de Wit, le cinéma d'animation sensible (with Ilan Nguyên), Stop Motion, un autre cinéma d'animation (with Philippe Moins) and La Tortue Rouge de Michael Dudok de Wit, published by Réseau Canopé. He is also co-editor of Blink Blank, the animated film magazine.
 
   


ISABELLE VANINI • Animation Programmer at the Forum des images and selector at the Annecy Animation Film Festival / France
As a programmer at the Forum des images in Paris, Isabelle Vanini was in charge of the RDV Cinéma d’animation. She coordinated the organisation of the retrospectives of films by Émile Cohl in 2008 and a programme devoted to the Czech animated film director Jan Švankmajer in 2010. She brought the Russian animated filmmaker Yuri Norstein to Paris for a tribute to the Japanese director Kihachiro Kawamoto. She is currently co-programmer of the Carrefour du cinéma d'animation at the Forum des images. An expert in animation for the CNC, the Nouvelle-Aquitaine Region, Occitania, the Haute-Savoie Department, Ciclic and the Césars, she regularly sits on juries.

du 17 au 26 janvier 2011

LE JURY OFFICIEL

JURY LONGS MÉTRAGES

 

© Roger Arpajou
PIERRE SALVADORI • PRÉSIDENT JURY LONGS MÉTRAGES
Réalisateur, scénariste / France

Pierre Salvadori est né en novembre 1964. Après des cours d’art dramatique, il se produit seul sur scène pendant quelques années puis, en 1990, écrit un premier scénario, Cible émouvante. Il le réalise en 1993 avec, dans les rôles principaux, Jean Rochefort, Marie Trintignant et Guillaume Depardieu. Suivent Les Apprentis en 1995 avec François Cluzet et Guillaume Depardieu et ...comme elle respire en 1997 avec Marie Trintignant et Guillaume Depardieu. Après un film plus noir en 2000, Les Marchands de sable, avec Mathieu Demy et Serge Riaboukine, il réunit Daniel Auteuil et José Garcia dans Après vous en 2003 puis Audrey Tautou et Gad Elmaleh dans Hors de prix en 2006. Pour son film suivant, De vrais mensonges en 2010, il dirige à nouveau Audrey Tautou aux côtés de Nathalie Baye puis il réalise en 2014 Dans la cour avec Catherine Deneuve et Gustave Kerven. Sélectionné à la Quinzaine des Réalisateurs en 2018, son film En liberté ! avec Adèle Haenel et Pio Marmaï reçoit le prix SACD, le Lumière de la presse internationale du meilleur scénario original et neuf nominations aux César. Son nouveau film La Petite Bande sortira ces prochains mois.


© Getty Images
ELSA AMIEL • Réalisatrice, scénariste, actrice / France

Née à Paris, Elsa Amiel grandit dans les théâtres accompagnant dès son plus jeune âge son père, mime autour du monde. Après une formation aux arts de la scène (théâtre, mime et danse), elle choisit à 18 ans le cinéma et débute avec Raoul Ruiz sur Comédie de l’innocence. Elle travaille ensuite comme première assistante auprès de Mathieu Amalric (Le Stade de Wimbledon, Tournée), Emmanuel Finkiel (Nulle part, terre promise, Je ne suis pas un salaud), Bertrand Bonello (L’Apollonide, Saint Laurent), Noémie Lvovsky (Camille redouble, Demain et tous les autres jours), Riad Sattouf (Les Beaux Gosses), Julie Bertuccelli (Depuis qu’Otar est parti, L’Arbre). En 2007, elle réalise son premier court métrage Faccia d’Angelo, présenté dans de nombreux festivals dont Premiers Plans où elle sera sélectionnée à nouveau avec son court métrage suivant Ailleurs seulement en 2012. Son scénario de premier long métrage Pearlest lu à Angers en 2017 et obtient le prix du Jury Fondation VISIO. Le film, interprété notamment par la bodybuildeuse Julia Föry, Arieh Worthalter et Peter Mullan est sélectionné dans plusieurs festivals dont Venise, Tribeca et Angers.

 

© Benjamin Guénault

LEYLA BOUZID • Réalisatrice, scénariste / Tunisie

Leyla Bouzid grandit à Tunis où elle est née en 1984. En 2003, elle part à Paris étudier la littérature française à la Sorbonne puis intègre La Fémis dans la section réalisation. Elle réalise Soubresauts (Mkhobbi Fi Kobba), son film de fin d’études, en Tunisie quelques mois avant la révolution. Il est récompensé par le grand prix du Jury à Premiers Plans en 2012. Elle choisit ensuite de tourner le moyen métrage Zakaria dans le sud de la France avec des comédiens non professionnels. Présenté à Angers, le film obtient une mention spéciale du Jury en 2014. À peine j’ouvre les yeux, son premier long métrage, est sélectionné dans de nombreux festivals internationaux dont Venise, Namur et Carthage et remporte plus de 40 prix, avant de connaître un vrai succès lors de sa sortie en salles quasi simultanée en France et en Tunisie. Son prochain long métrage, Une histoire d’amour et de désir, sortira cette année sur les écrans.  

 

FILIPPO MENEGHETTI • Réalisateur, scénariste / Italie

Originaire de Padova en Italie, Filippo Meneghetti fait ses premières expériences en travaillant dans le circuit du cinéma indépendant à New-York. Après des études de cinéma puis d’anthropologie à Rome, il travaille comme premier assistant pendant plusieurs années. Il passe à la réalisation avec les courts métrages Undici, en coréalisation avec Piero Tomaselli en 2011 et L’intruso en 2012, récompensé dans des dizaines de festivals italiens et internationaux dont le Prix du public à Premiers Plans en 2013. Il s’installe en France et en 2018 il réalise le court métrage La Bête, qui, après avoir été en compétition à South by Southwest en 2019, a obtenu plusieurs prix dans les festivals internationaux. Avec son projet de long métrage Deux, il participe aux Ateliers d’Angers en 2017, puis est sélectionné l’année suivante aux lectures de scénarios à Premiers Plans pour lequel il reçoit le prix du Jury Fondation VISIO. Le film est interprété par Martine Chevallier, Barbara Sukowa et Léa Drucker. Après la première au festival de Toronto 2019, il a été primé dans plus de soixante-dix festivals dans le monde dont le Prix du public à Angers en 2020 et vendu dans plus de vingt pays. Le film a été choisi par la France comme candidat aux Oscars 2021.

   

JURY COURTS MÉTRAGES

 


FRÉDÉRIC CORNET • Directeur général et artistique du cinéma Galeries à Bruxelles / Belgique
Frédéric Cornet est directeur général et artistique du cinéma Galeries depuis 2017. Il a commencé par travailler comme coordinateur de projet et programmateur du festival du film L'heure d’été à Galeries de cinéma de 2013 à 2017. Depuis 2018, il dynamise l'activité de distribution cinématographique de Galeries afin de permettre une plus grande offre cinématographique en Belgique. Également en 2018, il fait partie du comité de sélection de la compétition internationale du Brussels International Film Festival.
 


IOANA DRAGOMIRESCU • Responsable du cinéma Elvire Popesco à Bucarest et coordinatrice du Festival du Film Français / Roumanie
Ioana Dragomirescu est la responsable de la salle de cinéma Elvire Popesco, gérée par l’Institut français de Roumanie à Bucarest. La salle, membre du réseau Europa Cinemas, était le mono-écran le plus fréquenté du pays en 2018 et 2019. Elle est également la coordinatrice du Festival du Film Français en Roumanie, organisé chaque année dans 12 villes simultanément. Avant de rejoindre l’Institut français de Roumanie, elle a fait ses études à Sciences Po Paris puis a travaillé pendant plusieurs années pour Europa Cinemas et pour le distributeur indépendant Le Pacte.
 

ABI SAKAMOTO • Responsable Cinéma à l’Institut Français à Tokyo et critique de cinéma / Japon
Née à Tokyo, Abi Sakamoto a été rédactrice des Cahiers du Cinéma Japon entre 1996 et 2001 et a organisé une grande rétrospective des cinéastes japonais contemporains en 1997 dans le cadre du Festival d'automne à Paris où elle a présenté au public français les films notamment de Kiyoshi Kurosawa, Nobuhiro Suwa et de Shinji Aoyama. Depuis 1996, elle réalise au sein de l'Institut franco-japonais de Tokyo de nombreuses rétrospectives de cinéastes et d’acteurs français, comme Mathieu Amalric, Olivier Assayas, Jeanne Balibar, Claude Chabrol, Arnaud Desplechin, Philippe Garrel, Jacques Rivette, Agnès Varda ou encore Jean-Pierre Melville, Jean Renoir, Jean Gremillon, Guy Debord, Chantal Akerman. En 2002, Elle est actrice dans le film Demonlover d’Olivier Assayas. Depuis 2013, elle est nommée Responsable cinéma de l’Institut français du Japon. Abi Sakamoto est également critique de cinéma et a co-écrit certains livres dont Edward Yan, repenser / revoir.

 
   

JURY FILMS D'ÉCOLES

 


MILJA MIKKOLA • Responsable de la programmation au Midnight Sun Festival à Sodankylä / Helsinki / Finlande
Depuis 2005, Milja Mikkola fait partie du Arctic Circle’s Midnight Sun Film Festival où elle est actuellement responsable de la programmation. Elle est également membre du collectif de programmation du Cinéma Orion et co-directrice du Viva Erotica Film Festival, qui célèbre l’histoire du sexe avec des films rares projetés dans leur format d’origine. Projectionniste de formation, Milja Mikkola a étudié la théorie du cinéma à l’université Brunel de Londres et le journalisme visuel à l’université finlandaise deTampere.
 
   
© Raphael Ouellet


ÉMILIE POIRIER • Responsable de la programmation au Festival du Nouveau Cinéma à Montréal / Canada
Émilie Poirier œuvre à l’intersection de l’histoire de l’art, des Cultural Studies, de la programmation de film en festival et à la façon dont ils se croisent et interagissent. Elle est responsable des courts métrages, des Rencontres Pancanadiennes du Cinéma Étudiant (RPCE) et programmatrice long métrage au Festival du nouveau cinéma de Montréal (FNC) ainsi que candidate à la maîtrise en histoire de l’art à l’Université de Montréal. Ses recherches actuelles portent sur les collaborations entre la culture populaire et l'art contemporain et sur les frontières floues et les clivages existants entre les différents types de productions culturelles. Émilie détient un B.A. en science politique, relations internationales de l'UQÀM (2010) ainsi qu'un certificat en histoire de l'art de l'Université de Montréal (2014).
 


JULIETTE SCHRAMECK • Productrice associée chez Agat Films / France

Après un Master en Droit, Sciences-Po Paris et la Distex de La Fémis, Juliette Schrameck a travaillé de 2005 à 2007 en distribution puis en ventes internationales aux Films du Losange sur des films d’auteurs français et internationaux variés, de Michael Haneke à Sophie Fillières en passant par Michel Deville. Chez mk2 qu’elle rejoint en 2007, elle est en charge des ventes internationales avant de reprendre les acquisitions, puis la direction générale de mk2 films, filiale contenus du groupe, en charge de la distribution France et internationale et des coproductions. À ce titre, elle a coproduit et supervisé les ventes de films comme Cold War de Paweł Pawlikowski (Prix de la Mise en Scène- Cannes 2018), Au-delà des montagnes et Les Éternels de Jia Zhang Ke (Compétition - Cannes 2015 et 2018) ainsi que La Pire Personne au monde de Joachim Trier (en post production). Le line up des films qu’elle a acquis pour les ventes internationales de mk2 films a compté -parmi beaucoup d’autres- des films de Céline Sciamma, Xavier Dolan, Naomi Kawase, Olivier Assayas, Stéphane Brizé, Mati Diop, Yorgos Lanthimos, Mikhaël Hers, Justine Triet, Kôji Fukada, Michel Franco ou Corneliu Porumboiu. Le catalogue dont elle a supervisé la restauration et la diffusion en France et à l’étranger comprend l’œuvre de réalisateurs tels que Charles Chaplin, Abbas Kiarostami, Agnès Varda, Jacques Demy, David Lynch, François Truffaut, Robert Bresson et Claude Chabrol. En 2020, Juliette a rejoint Agat Films / Ex Nihilo en tant que productrice associée. Elle y développe des projets de cinéma français et international.

 

JURY PLANS ANIMÉS

 


NICOLAS DEVEAUX • Auteur, réalisateur Animation / France

Nicolas Deveaux est auteur-réalisateur de films d'animation. En 2004, Nicolas Deveaux réalise 7 tonnes 2. Son éléphant sur un trampoline marque ses débuts de réalisateur au sein du studio Cube. Suivra 5 mètres 80 et ses girafes plongeuses en 2013. Elles convaincront France 3 de lui confier son habillage été/hiver pendant 2 ans ainsi que l’Académie des Oscars pour son Theatrical Release. Il signe en 2017 L’Extraordinaire Voyage, un ride 6K immersif Flying theater projeté en écran géant pour le Futuroscope. En 2018 sort 1 mètre/heure, son 3e court métrage. Athleticus, sa nouvelle série pour Arte, met en scène un bestiaire réaliste fantasque confronté au sport de compétition. Avec les studios Cube et Xilam, il développe actuellement une nouvelle série ambitieuse : Wild Life City. Multi-primé à travers le monde sur de nombreux films, Nicolas Deveaux est actuellement président de la commission du CNC de Fonds d’Aide à L’Innovation en Animation.

 


XAVIER KAWA-TOPOR • Délégué général de la NEF Animation / France

Historien de formation, Xavier Kawa-Topor a dirigé le Centre Européen d’Art et de Civilisation Médiévale à Conques et l’Abbaye Royale de Fontevraud. Sa passion pour le cinéma d’animation l’a amené à créer au Forum des images, dont il a été le directeur de l’action éducative, la biennale Nouvelles images du Japon (1999-2003) qui a joué un rôle pionnier dans la reconnaissance en France de l’œuvre d’Hayao Miyazaki et d’Isao Takahata. À Fontevraud, Xavier Kawa-Topor a créé une résidence internationale d’écriture pour l’animation qui a accueilli à ce jour plus de 250 réalisateurs venus de 30 pays différents. Il est aujourd’hui délégué général de NEF Animation, association nationale de recherche et de création pour le film d’animation. Il a consacré plusieurs ouvrages au cinéma d’animation parus aux éditions Capricci : Cinéma d’animation : au-delà du réel, Le Cinéma d’Animation en 100 films (codirigé avec Philippe Moins), Michael Dudok de Wit, le cinéma d’animation sensible (avec Ilan Nguyên), Stop Motion, un autre cinéma d’animation (avec Philippe Moins) et La Tortue Rouge de Michael Dudok de Wit aux éditions Réseau Canopé. Il est également co-directeur éditorial de Blink Blank, la revue du film d’animation.

 


ISABELLE VANINI • Programmatrice Animation au Forum des images et sélectionneuse au Festival du Film d'Animation à Annecy / France

Programmatrice au Forum des images à Paris, Isabelle Vanini s'est occupée du RDV Cinéma d’animation. Elle a coordonné l’organisation de la rétrospective des films d’Émile Cohl en 2008 et un programme consacré au réalisateur d’animation tchèque Jan Švankmajer en 2010. Elle a fait venir le cinéaste d’animation russe Youri Norstein à Paris autour d’un hommage au réalisateur japonais Kihachiro Kawamoto. Actuellement, elle coprogramme le Carrefour du cinéma d’animation au Forum des images. Experte en animation pour le CNC, la Région Nouvelle-Aquitaine, Occitanie, Département de la Haute-Savoie, Ciclic et les César, elle fait régulièrement partie de jurys.

 
l>