date festival

OUT OF COMPETITION

Special screenings

Perdrix

Erwan Le Duc
2019 - France - 1h39
With Swann Arlaud, Maud Wyler, Fanny Ardant, Nicolas Maury, Patience Munchenbach, Alexandre Steiger

Pierre Perdrix has been living some turbulent days since the arrival in his life of the elusive Juliette Webb. Like a tornado, she sows the desire and disorder in his and his family's worlds, forcing everyone to redefine their borders, and finally start living.

Born in 1977, Erwan Le Duc has written and directed four short films, including Le Commissaire Perdrix ne fait pas le voyage pour rien, the script of which won an award at Premiers Plans in 2011. He also works as a journalist for the Sports Section of Le Monde. Perdrix is his first feature film and was screened this year at the Directors' Fortnight in Cannes.
Screenings : saturday 18 - 11:00 am - Les 400 coups S5 - presented by Julie Roué - compositrice and Erwan Le Duc - director
© Laurent Turin Nal / MK2

Copie conforme

Abbas Kiarostami
2010 - France / Italy - 1h46
With Juliette Binoche, William Shimell, Jean-Claude Carrière

With the publication of his latest book, James, an English writer, is giving a lecture in Italy on the close relationship between the original and the copy in art. He meets a young French woman, a gallery owner, who takes him off for a few hours into the alleyways of a small village in southern Tuscany.

Abbas Kiarostami shot more than forty films including short films, documentaries and feature films including his first film The Bread and Alley in 1970 followed by Homework, Close-up, And Life Goes On, Through the Olive Trees, The Taste of Cherry (Palme d'Or 1998), The Wind Will Carry Us, Ten, Like Someone in Love and 24 Frames. Copie conforme (Certified Copy) is the first feature film he shot outside Iran. It was screened in Cannes in 2010, winning Juliette Binoche the Best Actress award.
Screenings : tuesday 21 - 5:15 pm - Grand Théâtre - presented by Juliandte Binoche - actrice

Mauvais sang

Leos Carax
1986 - France - 2h05
With Juliette Binoche, Denis Lavant, Michel Piccoli, Hans Meyer, Julie Delpy

In the searing heat given off by Halley's comet, the population of Paris is hit by a virus which kills people who make love without feeling any emotional involvement. Two rival gangs fight over a serum which could be used to create a vaccine and save the population…

Leos Carax made his first feature film Boy Meets Girl in 1984. He then worked with Juliette Binoche twice for Mauvais sang (The Night is Young) and Les Amants du Pont-Neuf (Lovers on the Bridge). His next films, Pola X with Guillaume Depardieu and Catherine Deneuve and Holy Motors with Denis Lavant and Edith Scob, were screened at the Cannes Film Festival. His latest film, Annette with Marion Cotillard and Adam Driver, will be released this year.
Screenings : wednesday 22 - 5:15 pm - Grand Théâtre - presented by Juliandte Binoche
© Carlotta Films

Jean Douchet, l'enfant agité

Fabien Hagege, Guillaume Namur, Vincent Haasser
2017 - France - 1h25
With Jean Douchet, Noémie Lvovsky, Arnaud Desplechin, Barbet Schroeder, Saïd Ben Saïd, Xavier Beauvois, Thierry Frémaux

Jean Douchet is a legendary figure in French cinema. He was an influential film critic for over fifty years. A critic who didn't write, but who spoke. He travelled the world's cinematheques to meet the public and talk about the films he was passionate about. Through his intelligence, culture and humour, he influenced generations of filmmakers and film lovers, which didn't lessen his mystery.

Jean Douchet, who died at the end of November 2019, was a long-time companion of the Festival Premiers Plans. In recent years, he accompanied several retrospectives, including those devoted to Barbet Schroeder and Jean-Luc Godard. Jean Douchet, l'enfant agité starts from the intergenerational friendship of three friends “marked by his words” who decided to devote this initiatory journey to him.
Screenings : thursday 23 - 5:00 pm - CDC - Amphi jardin - presented by Fabien Hagege - director and Josué Morel - critique

Trois couleurs : bleu

Krzysztof Kieślowski
1993 - France / Poland / Switzerland - 1h38
With Juliette Binoche, Philippe Volter, Hélène Vincent, Emmanuelle Riva

After the death of her husband Patrice, a famous composer, and their daughter Anna, in a car accident, Julie begins a new, anonymous and independent life. Olivier, Patrice's assistant, in has always secretly been in love with her, tries to bring her out of her isolation by finishing the concerto for Europe, a work left unfinished by the Patrice.

Krzysztof Kieślowski started his career by making around twenty documentaries before focusing on feature-length fiction films. In 1988, he directed ten films for Polish television (Dekalog), one of which, Dekalog, pięć (Dekalog: Five), which was screened in Cannes, brought him international fame. He then shot La Double Vie de Véronique (The Double Life of Veronique) and the Three Colours Trilogy, Bleu (Blue), Blanc (White) and Rouge (Red). Presented at the Venice Festival, Bleu won the Lion d'Or and Juliette Binoche the prize for Best Female Performance and then the César for Best Actress.
Screenings : thursday 23 - 5:15 pm - Grand Théâtre - presented by Juliandte Binoche

Sils Maria

Olivier Assayas
2014 - France - 2h03
With Juliette Binoche, Kristen Stewart, Chloé Grace Moretz, Lars Eidinger, Johnny Flynn, Angela Winkler...

At the age of eighteen, Maria Enders had success in the theatre as Sigrid, an ambitious young girl with a dark charm that led to the suicide of a more mature woman, Helena. Twenty years later, she is asked to perform in the play again, but this time on the other side of the mirror, as Helena...

Olivier Assayas made his first feature Désordre (Disorder) in 1986. This was followed by L'Enfant de l'hiver (Winter's Child), Paris s'éveille (Paris Awakens), Une nouvelle vie, L'Eau froide (Cold Water), Irma Vep, Fin août, début septembre, Les Destinées sentimentales, Demonlover, Clean, Boarding Gate, Carlos, Après mai (Something in the Air), Personal Shopper… He worked with Juliette Binoche three times, in L'Heure d'été (Summer Hours), Sils Maria (Clouds of Sils Maria) and Doubles vies (Non-Fiction). His latest film, Cuban Network (Wasp Network), will be released on 29 January and stars Penelope Cruz and Edgar Ramirez.
Screenings : saturday 25 - 10:00 am - Centre de congrèsrium - presented by Olivier Assayas - director - followed by a debate with Juliandte Binoche

Ma vie de Courgette

Claude Barras
2016 - France / Switzerland - 1h06
With Gaspard Schlatter, Sixtine Murat, Paulin Jaccoud, Michel Vuillermoz

Courgette is not a vegetable, he's a brave little boy. When he loses his mother he thinks he's all alone in the world. But at the children's home, he meets five other children, all of whom have their own stories and they are as hard as they are tender. And then there's this girl, Camille. When you're 10 years old, having a group of friends, falling in love, there are lots of things to discover and learn. And why not even be happy.

Claude Barras has directed several short films, including Banquise (Ice Flow), presented at Premiers Plans in 2007. Ma vie de Courgette (My Life as a Courgette), co-written by Céline Sciamma, was selected for the Directors' Fortnight in Cannes in 2016 and was a major public success when it was released in about sixty countries. Nominated for the Golden Globes and the Oscars, Claude Barras has won numerous awards, including two Césars for best animated film and best adaptation, two Cristals at Annecy and a European Film Award.
Screenings : saturday 25 - 2:15 pm - Grand Théâtre - followed by a debate with Claude Barras - director
© Ciné-Tamaris

Varda par Agnès

Agnès Varda, Didier Rouget
2019 - France - 1h55
With Agnès Varda, Sandrine Bonnaire, Hervé Chandès, Nurith Aviv, Esther Levesque

Seasoned storyteller Agnès Varda opens the doors of her universe and revisits her inspirations and her filmography with her customary verve. A self-portrait as a goodbye.

Agnès Varda left us at the end of March 2019, leaving behind her one last work. Partly filmed in Angers, during the 2018 Festival Premiers Plans, this “talk” (as she called it) provides some keys to look at her work. “I share some thoughts about my ‘cinécriture'. The film covers two centuries: the 20th century, from my first fiction La Pointe Courte in 1954, to Les Cent et une nuits (A Hundred and One Nights) in 1996 (...). In the 21st century, small digital cameras have changed my approach to documentary, from Les Glaneurs et la Glaneuse (The Gleaners and I) in 2000 to Visages villages (Faces Places) with JR in 2017. I began my life as a visual artist by discovering different ways of sharing my emotions.” (Agnes Varda)
Screenings : saturday 25 - 5:00 pm - Grand Théâtre - presented by Rosalie Varda and Mathieu Demy - enfants d'Agnès Varda


Claude Barras - Short films

Screenings : monday 20 - 2:30 pm - Les 400 coups S5 - followed by a debate with Claude Barras - director
running time: 29mn

Banquise

Claude Barras, Cédric Louis
2005 - Switzerland - Animation - 06mn
Marine, an overweight little girl, suffers from the way other people look at her and from the summer heat. She dreams of a better life with penguins on the ice flows…

Chambre 69

Claude Barras
2012 - Switzerland - Animation - 03mn
A road crosses an arid desert. A car stops in a motel parking lot. A man gets out with a box under his arm and rushes into room 69...

Land of the Heads

Claude Barras et Cédric Louis
2009 - Switzerland / Canada - Animation - 06mn
There is trouble up at the château. Madame has gone off her head and Monsieur is in love with his accordion. The bossy wife orders her husband to go off to look for a new face.

Le Génie de la boîte de raviolis

Claude Barras
2005 - Switzerland / France - Animation - 08mn
Armand works on the production line in a pasta factory. One evening he opens a can of ravioli for his dinner. A Genie jumps out and grants him two wishes.

Sainte Barbe

Claude Barras et Cédric Louis
2007 - Switzerland / Canada - Animation - 06mn
Can the complicity between a little boy and his bearded grandfather last after death? No doubt, especially if the boy remains loyal to the old man's rebellious spirit.

du 17 au 26 janvier 2011

ÉVÉNEMENTS

Séances spéciales

Perdrix

Erwan Le Duc
2019 - France - 1h39
Avec Swann Arlaud, Maud Wyler, Fanny Ardant, Nicolas Maury, Patience Munchenbach, Alexandre Steiger

Pierre Perdrix vit des jours agités depuis l'irruption dans son existence de l'insaisissable Juliette Webb. Comme une tornade, elle va semer le désir et le désordre dans son univers et celui de sa famille, obligeant chacun à redéfinir ses frontières, et à se mettre enfin à vivre.

Né en 1977, Erwan Le Duc a écrit et réalisé quatre courts métrages, dont Le Commissaire Perdrix ne fait pas le voyage pour rien, dont le scénario a été primé à Premiers Plans en 2011. Il travaille également comme journaliste pour le service Sports du quotidien Le Monde. Perdrix est son premier long métrage et a été présenté cette année à Cannes, à la Quinzaine des réalisateurs.
Horaires : samedi 18 - 11h00 - Les 400 coups S5 - présenté par Julie Roué - compositrice et Erwan Le Duc - réalisateur - Film audiodécrit
© Laurent Turin Nal / MK2

Copie conforme

Abbas Kiarostami
2010 - France / Italie - 1h46
Avec Juliette Binoche, William Shimell, Jean-Claude Carrière

À l'occasion de la sortie de son dernier livre, James, un écrivain anglais, donne en Italie une conférence ayant pour thème les relations étroites entre l'original et la copie dans l'art. Il rencontre une jeune femme d'origine française, galeriste, qui l'entraîne pour quelques heures dans les ruelles d'un petit village du sud de la Toscane.

Abbas Kiarostami tourne plus de quarante films dont des courts métrages, des documentaires et des longs métrages parmi lesquels son premier film Le Pain et la Rue en 1970 puis Devoirs du soir, Close-up, Et la vie continue, Au travers des Oliviers, Le Goût de la cerise (Palme d'Or 1998), Le Vent nous emportera, Ten, Like Someone in Love et 24 Frames. Copie conforme est le premier long métrage tourné hors d'Iran. Présenté à Cannes en 2010, Juliette Binoche remporte le prix d'interprétation féminine.
Horaires : mardi 21 - 17h15 - Grand Théâtre - présenté par Juliette Binoche - actrice

Mauvais sang

Leos Carax
1986 - France - 2h05
Avec Juliette Binoche, Denis Lavant, Michel Piccoli, Hans Meyer, Julie Delpy

Sous l'accablante chaleur dégagée par la comète de Halley, la population parisienne est frappée par un virus tuant ceux qui font l'amour sans s'aimer. Dès lors, deux bandes rivales vont se disputer le germe de ce virus qui devrait permettre de créer un vaccin et sauver la population...

En 1984, Leos Carax tourne son premier long métrage Boy Meets Girl. Il retrouve ensuite Juliette Binoche à deux reprises pour Mauvais sang et Les Amants du Pont-Neuf. Ses films suivants, Pola X avec Guillaume Depardieu et Catherine Deneuve et Holy Motors avec Denis Lavant et Edith Scob, sont présentés au Festival de Cannes. Son nouveau film, Annette avec Marion Cotillard et Adam Driver, sortira cette année.
Horaires : mercredi 22 - 17h15 - Grand Théâtre - présenté par Juliette Binoche
© Carlotta Films

Jean Douchet, l'enfant agité

Fabien Hagege, Guillaume Namur, Vincent Haasser
2017 - France - 1h25
Avec Jean Douchet, Noémie Lvovsky, Arnaud Desplechin, Barbet Schroeder, Saïd Ben Saïd, Xavier Beauvois, Thierry Frémaux

Jean Douchet est une figure mythique du cinéma français. Depuis une cinquantaine d'années, il est un critique de cinéma influent. Un critique qui n'écrit pas, mais qui parle. Il sillonne les cinémathèques du monde entier pour rencontrer le public et parler des films qui le passionnent. Par son intelligence, sa culture, son humour, il a influencé des générations de cinéastes et d'amoureux du cinéma mais n'en reste pas moins mystérieux.

Disparu fin novembre 2019, Jean Douchet était un compagnon de route de longue date du Festival Premiers Plans. Ces dernières années, il avait accompagné de nombreuses rétrospectives dont celles consacrées à Barbet Schroeder et Jean-Luc Godard. Jean Douchet, l'enfant agité part de l'amitié intergénérationnelle de trois camarades "frappé par sa parole" qui décident de lui consacrer cette balade qui prend aussi la forme d'un voyage initiatique.
Horaires : jeudi 23 - 17h00 - Centre de Congrès - Amphi jardin - présenté par Fabien Hagege - réalisateur et Josué Morel - critique

Trois couleurs : bleu

Krzysztof Kieślowski
1993 - France / Pologne / Suisse - 1h38
Avec Juliette Binoche, Philippe Volter, Hélène Vincent, Emmanuelle Riva

Après la mort de son mari Patrice, un grand compositeur, et de leur fille Anna, dans un accident de voiture, Julie commence une nouvelle vie, anonyme et indépendante. Olivier, l'assistant de Patrice, amoureux d'elle, tente de la sortir de son isolement en terminant le concerto pour l'Europe, oeuvre laissée inachevée par le compositeur.

Krzysztof Kieślowski débute par une vingtaine de documentaires avant de se consacrer à des longs métrages de fiction. En 1988, il réalise pour la télévision polonaise dix téléfilms (cycle du Décalogue) dont l'un d'eux Tu ne tueras point, présenté à Cannes, lui apporte une renommée internationale. Il tourne ensuite La Double Vie de Véronique puis la trilogie Bleu, Blanc et Rouge. Présenté au Festival de Venise, Bleu remporte le Lion d'Or et Juliette Binoche, le prix d'interprétation féminine puis le César de la meilleur actrice.
Horaires : jeudi 23 - 17h15 - Grand Théâtre - présenté par Juliette Binoche

Sils Maria

Olivier Assayas
2014 - France - 2h03
Avec Juliette Binoche, Kristen Stewart, Chloé Grace Moretz, Lars Eidinger, Johnny Flynn, Angela Winkler...

À dix-huit ans, Maria Enders a connu le succès au théâtre en incarnant Sigrid, jeune fille ambitieuse et au charme trouble qui conduit au suicide une femme plus mûre, Helena. Vingt ans plus tard, on lui propose de reprendre cette pièce, mais cette fois de l'autre côté du miroir, dans le rôle d'Helena…

Olivier Assayas réalise en 1986 son premier long métrage Désordre. Suivront L'Enfant de l'hiver, Paris s'éveille, Une nouvelle vie, L'Eau froide, Irma Vep, Fin août, début septembre, Les Destinées sentimentales, Demonlover, Clean, Boarding Gate, Carlos, Après mai, Personal Shoper… Il retrouve à trois reprises Juliette Binoche avec L'Heure d'été, Sils Maria et Doubles vies. Son nouveau film Cuban Network sort le 29 janvier avec Penelope Cruz et Edgar Ramirez.
Horaires : samedi 25 - 10h00 - Centre de Congrès - Auditorium - présenté par Olivier Assayas - réalisateur - suivi d'une rencontre avec Juliette Binoche

Ma vie de Courgette

Claude Barras
2016 - France / Suisse - 1h06
Avec Gaspard Schlatter, Sixtine Murat, Paulin Jaccoud, Michel Vuillermoz

Courgette n'a rien d'un légume, c'est un vaillant petit garçon. Il croit qu'il est seul au monde quand il perd sa mère. Mais, au foyer, il rencontre cinq enfants qui ont tous leur histoire et elles sont aussi dures qu'ils sont tendres. Et puis il y a cette fille, Camille. Quand on a 10 ans, avoir une bande de copains, tomber amoureux, il y en a des choses à découvrir et à apprendre. Et pourquoi pas même, être heureux.

Claude Barras réalise de nombreux courts métrages dont Banquise, présenté à Premiers Plans en 2007. Ma vie de Courgette, co-scénarisé par Céline Sciamma, est sélectionné à la Quinzaine des Réalisateurs en 2016 et connaît à sa sortie un important succès publique dans une soixantaine de pays. Nominé aux Golden Globes et aux Oscars, Claude Barras remporte de nombreux prix dont deux César du meilleur film d'animation et de la meilleure adaptation, deux Cristals à Annecy et un European Film Award.
Horaires : samedi 25 - 14h15 - Grand Théâtre - suivi d'une rencontre avec Claude Barras - réalisateur
© Ciné-Tamaris

Varda par Agnès

Agnès Varda, Didier Rouget
2019 - France - 1h55
Avec Agnès Varda, Sandrine Bonnaire, Hervé Chandès, Nurith Aviv, Esther Levesque

Ouvrant en conteuse aguerrie les portes de son univers, Agnès Varda revisite avec son inventivité coutumière, ses inspirations et sa filmographie. Un autoportrait conçu comme un au revoir.

Agnès Varda nous a quitté fin mars 2019, laissant derrière elle une dernière oeuvre. En partie tournée à Angers, pendant le Festival Premiers Plans 2018, cette "causerie" (pour reprendre Varda) propose quelques clés pour regarder son travail. "Je partage des réflexions sur ma « cinécriture ». Le film couvre deux siècles : au 20e siècle, de ma première fiction La Pointe Courte en 1954, aux Cent et une nuits en 1996. (...). Au 21e siècle, les petites caméras digitales ont changé mon approche au documentaire, avec Les Glaneurs et la Glaneuse en 2000 jusqu'à Visages villages avec JR en 2017. J'ai commencé ma vie d'artiste visuelle en découvrant d'autres manières de partager mes émotions.” (Agnès Varda)
Horaires : samedi 25 - 17h00 - Grand Théâtre - présenté par Rosalie Varda et Mathieu Demy - enfants d'Agnès Varda


Claude Barras - Programme de courts métrages

Horaires : lundi 20 - 14h30 - Les 400 coups S5 - suivi d'une rencontre avec Claude Barras - réalisateur
durée: 29mn

Banquise

Claude Barras, Cédric Louis
2005 - Suisse - Animation - 06mn
Marine, petite fille obèse, souffre du regard des autres et de la chaleur de l'été. Elle rêve d'une vie meilleure parmi les pingouins sur la banquise…

Chambre 69

Claude Barras
2012 - Suisse - Animation - 03mn
Une route traverse un désert aride. Une voiture s'arrête sur le parking d'un motel. Un homme sort du véhicule, un carton sous le bras et s'engouffre précipitamment dans la chambre 69 du motel...

Land of the Heads

Claude Barras et Cédric Louis
2009 - Suisse / Canada - Animation - 06mn
C'est la crise au château. Madame a perdu la tête, et Monsieur est amoureux de son accordéon. L'épouse autoritaire ordonne à son homme de partir en quête d'un nouveau visage.

Le Génie de la boîte de raviolis

Claude Barras
2005 - Suisse / France - Animation - 08mn
Armand travaille à la chaîne dans une usine de pâtes alimentaires. Le soir, pour le souper, il ouvre une boîte de raviolis. Un génie en surgit et lui propose de réaliser deux vœux.

Sainte Barbe

Claude Barras et Cédric Louis
2007 - Suisse / Canada - Animation - 06mn
La complicité unissant un petit garçon et son grand-père barbu peut-elle subsister par-delà la mort ? Sans doute, surtout si le garçon reste fidèle à l'esprit rebelle du vieil homme.