date festival

TRIBUTES AND RETROSPECTIVES

Costa-Gavras


Eden à l'Ouest



Costa-Gavras
2009 - France / Greece / Italy - 1h50

Screenings : sunday 27 - 8:30 pm - Grand Théâtre - presented by Costa-Gavras - director - Michelle Ray-Gavras - producer - Ulrich Tukur - actor and Serge Toubiana - critique sunday 3 - 5:15 pm - Grand Théâtre
The odyssey of Elias, an illegal immigrant crossing the Mediterranean, who washes up on a nudist beach… He crosses Italy and France with the idea of getting to Paris where he potentially has a job. During his journey, which is littered with obstacles, disappointments and betrayals, he comes up against prejudice and the fear of foreigners …
To deal with the complex subject of the exile of migrants, Costa-Gavras and his co-writer Jean-Claude Grumberg chose to treat it in the form of a humanist fable. The coming of age journey of the candid Elias is pure present: we know nothing of the origins of the character, but his very presence is a sort of litmus test for the people he encounters. Riccardo Scarmaccio plays a sort of modern, wide-eyed and agile Buster Keaton facing the surrealist situations he has to cope with. Each of his adventures serves as a metaphor, each time he is the victim of rejection or the beneficiary of a kind act cruelly stresses, in his apparent naivety, a feature of our society.
CAST AND CREW


Cast : Riccardo Scamarcio, Odysseas Papaspiliopoulos, Léa Wiazemsky, Tess Spentzos, Kristen Ross, Stella-Melina Vasilaki, Gil Alma, Éric Caravaca, Marisha Triantafyllidou, Constantine Markoulakis, Mona Achache
Screenplay : Costa-Gavras, Jean-Claude Grumberg
Cinematography : Patrick Blossier
Sound : Thanassis Arvanitis
Editing : Yannick Kergoat
Music : Armand Amar

Production : K.G. Productions, Pathé, France 3 Cinéma

French distributor : Pathé distribution

du 17 au 26 janvier 2011

HOMMAGES ET RETROSPECTIVES

Costa-Gavras


Eden à l'Ouest


Costa-Gavras
2009 - France / Grèce / Italie - 1h50

Horaires : dimanche 27 - 20h30 - Grand Théâtre - présenté par Costa-Gavras - réalisateur - Michelle Ray-Gavras - productrice - Ulrich Tukur - acteur et Serge Toubiana - critique dimanche 3 - 17h15 - Grand Théâtre
L'odyssée d'Elias, émigré clandestin en Méditerranée, qui échoue sur une plage naturiste… Il traverse alors l'Italie et la France dans le but de rejoindre Paris où un potentiel travail s'offre à lui. Durant son périple jonché d'obstacles, de déceptions et de trahisons, il se heurte à la peur de l'étranger et aux préjugés…
Pour aborder le sujet complexe de l'exil des migrants, Costa-Gavras et son co-scénariste Jean-Claude Grumberg ont opté pour un traitement en forme de fable humaniste. Le périple initiatique du candide Elias n'est que pur présent : on ne sait rien des origines du personnage mais sa présence même agit comme un révélateur auprès des gens qu'il côtoie. Riccardo Scarmaccio incarne une sorte de Buster Keaton moderne, les yeux écarquillés et le corps agile, face aux situations surréalistes auxquels il doit faire face. Chacune de ses aventures a mission de métaphore, chacun des rejets dont il est victime ou des bienfaits qui lui sont octroyés souligne de manière cruelle sous son apparente naïveté un trait de notre société.
GENERIQUE


Interprétation :Riccardo Scamarcio, Odysseas Papaspiliopoulos, Léa Wiazemsky, Tess Spentzos, Kristen Ross, Stella-Melina Vasilaki, Gil Alma, Éric Caravaca, Marisha Triantafyllidou, Constantine Markoulakis, Mona Achache

Scénario : Costa-Gavras, Jean-Claude Grumberg
Image : Patrick Blossier
Son : Thanassis Arvanitis
Montage : Yannick Kergoat
Musique : Armand Amar

Production : K.G. Productions, Pathé, France 3 Cinéma

Distribution : Pathé distribution