date festival

TRIBUTES AND RETROSPECTIVES

Read, re-read André Bazin

In attendance of Hervé Joubert-Laurencin, Marianne Dautrey, Murielle Joudet, Benoît Jacquot and Jean-Michel Frodon

With the 3-volume publication of the Écrits complets d'André Bazin, under the direction of Hervé Joubert-Laurencin, the Festival Premiers Plans is looking back over the work of the leading French critic, who was born in Angers in 1918 and was the mentor of the filmmakers of the New Wave. His seminal collection Qu'est-ce que le cinéma ? (What is Cinema?) hid far too many other writings and his work as an art historian. Hervé Joubert-Laurencin will be present to discuss this important work and present some of the favourite films of the visionary critic who died all too young.


Aller-Retour

Benoît Jacquot, Jean-Michel Frodon
2018 - France - 51mn
With Benoît Jacquot, Jean-Michel Frodon

Leaving for an unknown destination, critic Jean-Michel Frodon and filmmaker Benoît Jacquot converse in a train compartment.
Old friends Jean-Michel Frodon and Benoît Jacquot discuss their relationships to their occupations. As the journey goes by, the meandering conversation queries fundamentals or drifts into unexplored terrain. Simple, erudite, Aller-Retour is a trip with two enthusiasts.
Screenings : tuesday 29 - 5:00 pm - Les 400 coups S5 - followed by a debate with Jean-Michel Frodon - critique
© Florent Bazin

Bazin, roman

Hervé Joubert-Laurencin, Marianne Dautrey
2018 - France - 1h15
With Françoise Lebrun, Jean-Patrice Courtois

Bazin, roman looks back at the development of a an unfinished project by the famous critic André Bazin, co-founder of the Cahiers du Cinéma: a project to make a film on the Romanesque churches of the Saintonge region. Above and beyond the creation of a portrait, the films tries to show the (rarely shown) activity of a film critic.
“Through their project, Hervé Joubert-Laurencin and Marianne Dautrey make the singular proposition of expressing Bazin's intimate relationship with the world through film, which he considered as a mass art capable of bringing the spectator close to reality. Bazin, roman is a journey into the heart of a thought, a materialist conception as yet unseen in history, memory and time. The familiarity of the two filmmakers with the work of the illustrious critic is only the starting point for their ‘invention'. The word invention, in French, also refers to the discovery of a treasure. Can we inherit Bazin's treasure?” (Christophe Gougeon, production note, 2018)
Screenings : wednesday 30 - 10:00 am - Les 400 coups S5 - presented by Hervé Joubert-Laurencin - Marianne Dautrey - followed by a debate with Hervé Joubert-Laurencin - professeur and auteur - Marianne Dautrey - auteur - Benoît Jacquot - director - Murielle Joudand - journaliste - Jean-Michel Frodon - critique

Le Crime de Monsieur Lange

Jean Renoir
1936 - France - 1h20
With René Lefèvre, Florelle, Jules Berry, Marcel Lévesque, Odette Talazac, Henri Guisol, Maurice Baquet

In the North of France, Amédée Lange and Valentine find refuge in a small hotel. Very soon, the clients recognise the murderer on the run that all the newspapers are talking about. While Amédée is resting, Valentine tells them how this naïve young man was led to commit a crime…
In 1935, Jean Renoir was growing closer to the Octobre group while Jacques Prévert was moving away. The Communist cause it at the heart of this militant and educational film which proved able of showing the atmosphere of the time while maintaining a disarming vigour and naturalness. André Bazin focused a great deal on the mythical aspect, (a panorama starting with the character of Lange, switches the other way sweeping over the court before refocusing on him) which he brilliantly analysed: “this astonishing camera movement, apparently contrary to all logic, possibly has secondary, psychological or dramatic justifications (it gives a feeling of dizziness, madness, creates suspense) but its real reason is more essential; it is the spatial expression of the whole staging”.
Screenings : wednesday 30 - 4:15 pm - Multiplexe - 2 - presented by Hervé Joubert-Laurencin - professeur and auteur

Umberto D.

Vittorio De Sica
1952 - Italy - 1h29
With Carlo Battisti, Maria Pia Casilio, Lina Gennari, Ileana Simova, Elena Rea,Memmo Carotenuto

Umberto Domenico Ferrari, a retired teacher, has little reason to be proud of his devotion to the State. The meagre pension he gets from his former employer is not enough to give him a decent living. Alone in the world, the old man has to make do with the company of his dog, Flike…
Umberto D. marks the peak and the conclusion of Vittorio De Sica's neorealist vein. Each of his previous films focused on the innocence of childhood being broken by a difficult social situation (parental abandonment, manipulation by adults leading to delinquency, etc.). Umberto D. is the culmination of this approach, and manages to move us deeply with the simple story of an old man, who hangs on to life thanks to his love for his dog. “Have I made it clear, to those who would still believe, given the assumptions of the script, that Umberto D. is a sentimental melodrama, that it is in fact the cruellest work, the most atrocious statement in its benevolence that the cinema has shown on the human condition?” (André Bazin)
Screenings : thursday 31 - 10:00 am - Les 400 coups S5 - presented by Hervé Joubert-Laurencin - professeur and auteur

du 17 au 26 janvier 2011

HOMMAGES ET RETROSPECTIVES

Lire, Relire André Bazin

En présence d'Hervé Joubert-Laurencin, Marianne Dautrey, Murielle Joudet, Benoît Jacquot et Jean-Michel Frodon


À l’occasion de la publication en trois volumes, sous la direction d’Hervé Joubert-Laurencin, des Écrits complets d’André Bazin, le Festival Premiers Plans propose un retour sur l’œuvre du grand critique français né à Angers en 1918 et mentor des cinéastes de la Nouvelle Vague. L’indispensable recueil Qu’est-ce que le cinéma ? a masqué de trop nombreux écrits et une véritable œuvre d’historien d’art. Hervé Joubert-Laurencin viendra évoquer cette redécouverte importante et présenter quelques films fétiches du critique visionnaire disparu trop tôt.



Aller-Retour

Benoît Jacquot, Jean-Michel Frodon
2018 - France - 51mn
Avec Benoît Jacquot, Jean-Michel Frodon

En partance vers une destination inconnue, le critique Jean-Michel Frodon et le cinéaste Benoît Jacquot devisent, en face-à-face, dans un compartiment de train.
Amis de longue date, Jean-Michel Frodon et Benoît Jacquot dialoguent sur le rapport qu'entretient leur métier. La conversation s'invente au fil du voyage pour ré-interroger des fondamentaux ou au contraire s'aventurer sur des terrains inédits. Simple, érudit, Aller-Retour est une balade entre deux passionnés.
Horaires : mardi 29 - 17h00 - Les 400 coups S5 - suivi d'une rencontre avec Jean-Michel Frodon - critique
© Florent Bazin

Bazin, roman

Hervé Joubert-Laurencin, Marianne Dautrey
2018 - France - 1h15
Avec Françoise Lebrun, Jean-Patrice Courtois

Bazin, roman revient sur l'élaboration d'un projet avorté par le célèbre critique André Bazin, cofondateur des Cahiers du Cinéma : celui de réaliser un film autour des églises romanes de la Saintonge. Par-delà l'exercice du portrait, le film tente de rendre compte de l'activité, rarement mise en scène, de critique de cinéma.
« À travers leur projet, Hervé Joubert-Laurencin et Marianne Dautrey font la proposition singulière d'exprimer le rapport intime de Bazin au monde à travers le cinéma, ce que celui-ci considérait comme un art de masse en mesure de rapprocher le spectateur de la réalité. Bazin, roman est une traversée au cœur d'une pensée, d'une conception matérialiste inédite de l'histoire, de la mémoire et du temps. La familiarité des deux cinéastes avec l'œuvre de l'illustre critique n'est que le point de départ de leur "invention". L'invention désigne aussi, en français, la découverte d'un trésor. Peut-on hériter du trésor de Bazin ? » (Christophe Gougeon, note de production, 2018)
Horaires : mercredi 30 - 10h00 - Les 400 coups S5 - présenté par Hervé Joubert-Laurencin - Marianne Dautrey - suivi d'une rencontre avec Hervé Joubert-Laurencin - professeur et auteur - Marianne Dautrey - auteur - Benoît Jacquot - réalisateur - Murielle Joudet - journaliste - Jean-Michel Frodon - critique

Le Crime de Monsieur Lange

Jean Renoir
1936 - France - 1h20
Avec René Lefèvre, Florelle, Jules Berry, Marcel Lévesque, Odette Talazac, Henri Guisol, Maurice Baquet

Dans le Nord de la France, Amédée Lange et Valentine trouvent refuge dans un petit hôtel. Très vite, les clients reconnaissent l'assassin en fuite dont tous les journaux parlent. Alors pendant qu'Amédée se repose, Valentine vient leur raconter comment ce jeune homme ingénu a pu être conduit à commettre un crime…
En 1935, Jean Renoir se rapproche du groupe Octobre tandis que Jacques Prévert s'en éloigne. La cause communiste est ainsi au cœur de ce film militant et pédagogue qui aura su restituer l'air de son temps tout en conservant un naturel et une vigueur désarmants. André Bazin s'est abondamment penché sur un plan mythique, (un panoramique qui part du personnage de Lange, vire en sens contraire balayant toute la cour avant de le recadrer) qu'il a brillamment analysé : « Cet étonnant mouvement d'appareil apparemment contraire à toute logique a peut-être des justifications secondaires, psychologiques ou dramatiques (il donne une impression de vertige, de folie, il crée un suspense) mais sa raison d'être est plus essentielle ; il est l'expression spatiale pure de toute la mise en scène. »
Horaires : mercredi 30 - 16h15 - Multiplexe - 2 - présenté par Hervé Joubert-Laurencin - professeur et auteur

Umberto D.

Vittorio De Sica
1952 - Italie - 1h29
Avec Carlo Battisti, Maria Pia Casilio, Lina Gennari, Ileana Simova, Elena Rea,Memmo Carotenuto

Umberto Domenico Ferrari, petit professeur retraité, n'a guère de raison de se féliciter de son dévouement à l'État. La maigre pension que lui alloue son ancien employeur ne suffit plus à lui assurer une existence décente. Seul au monde, le vieil homme doit se contenter de la compagnie de son chien, Flike…
Umberto D. marque l'apogée et la conclusion de la veine néoréaliste de Vittorio De Sica. Chacun des films précédents s'attachait à la description d'une enfance dont l'innocence était brisée par le contexte social difficile (abandon parental, manipulation des adultes conduisant à la délinquance, etc). Umberto D. signe l'aboutissement de cette approche, en réussissant à nous bouleverser avec la simple histoire d'un vieil homme, qui se raccroche à la vie grâce à l'amour de son chien. « Ai-je bien fait comprendre, à l'usage de ceux qui croiraient encore, à l'énoncé du scénario, qu'Umberto D. est un mélo sentimental, qu'il s'agit de l'œuvre la plus cruelle, du témoignage le plus atroce dans sa bénignité que le cinéma ait peut-être porté sur la condition humaine ? » (André Bazin)
Horaires : jeudi 31 - 10h00 - Les 400 coups S5 - présenté par Hervé Joubert-Laurencin - professeur et auteur